Attention Applicants and Current Licensees
All New Applicants and Current Licensees, Please Use the Following Link to Apply for or Renew Your License:
eLicensing Portal: https://elicense.az.gov/
Citizenship Verification form required for initial application (All applicants): FILL OUT ONLINE Citizenship Verification Form
Endorsement applicants only supplemental forms: License verification and 120-hour Course of Study forms
Arizona Statutes and Rules Books for exam and practice: Booklet
Mailing address for documentation: Arizona State Board of Optometry, 1740 W. Adams St., Suite 3003, Phoenix, AZ 85007
Thank you for your interest in becoming a licensed optometrist in the great state of Arizona!
Please review the following and apply under the terms in which you qualify.
To facilitate the timely processing of all applications, please allow 5 days after receipt of your application before calling for a status of your application. Status of your license application will be provided only to the applicant or to one representative as designated in writing by the applicant.
Licensure Requirements Are Established by Statute and Rule and Cannot Be Waived by the Board.
The Board accepts Parts I, II & III of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination taken within 10 years from the application submission date. There is no state practical exam. Therefore, the only additional testing currently required for regular applicants is the Jurisprudence examination. The exam is administered on the fourth Friday of each month. You may take the Jurisprudence exam at any time during the application process. Please review A.R.S. §32-1722 and A.A.C. R4-21-201 for applicant requirements for licensure.
You are eligible for and must apply as endorsement if you are practicing at least four out of the last five years in the same jurisdiction AND are coming from a state that has an equal or higher scope of practice as Arizona (and you are practicing at that level). If you are coming from a state that does not have an equal or higher scope of practice, you may utilize the CELMO certificate through ARBO to meet the Endorsement application requirements. Endorsement applicants are required to take and pass the Jurisprudence examination. The exam is administered on the fourth Friday of each month. You may take the Jurisprudence exam at any time during the application process. Please review A.R.S. §32-1723 and A.A.C. R4-21-202 for applicant requirements for licensure.
Universal Recognition Applicants (HB2569; EFFECTIVE AUGUST 27, 2019):
Establishes that an occupational or professional license shall be issued in the same discipline and at the same practice level to a person who stablishes residence in Arizona.
In order to apply by "Universal Recognition", the applicant must meet ALL the following requirements to use this process:
- Show proof of Arizona residency. If you do not have residency in Arizona, you must utilize the Regular or Endorsement application process as you are not eligible to apply under this law.
- Must currently possess the license in at least one other state with an equal or higher scope than Arizona and must be in good standing
- Have been licensed in that state for at least one year prior to applying in Arizona
- Must have met the minimum education and or work experience requirements to possess the license in the other state
- Must have passed the licensing examination to possess the license, if required by the other state
- Has not had a license or certificate revoked or voluntarily surrendered a license or certificate while under investigation for unprofessional conduct
- Has not had discipline imposed by any other regulating entity
- Does not have a complaint, allegation or investigation pending that relates to unprofessional conduct
- Does not have a disqualifying criminal history as determined by the Board
- Pays all applicable fees
If you have any questions, please contact Veronica Chavez, Licensing Administrator at (602) 542-8164.
New Applicant Fee Waiver Information:
If you feel you are below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level, you may apply for a waiver of some or all of your application and license fees. (See amount here: Poverty Level Guidelines) Also, you must have filed a tax return to be eligible for consideration of the waiver.
See attached form and requirements; requests must be submitted prior to applying for licensure in Arizona.
Volunteer Application Pursuant to A.R.S. §32-3217
This is the volunteer application only. Please do not use if you are applying for Regular or Endorsement licensure.
Beginning June 12, 2020, the Jurisprudence Exam is offered the FOURTH Friday of each month. The exam is administered at 10:00 a.m. in room 1024 at the Board office located at 1740 W. Adams St., Phoenix, AZ 85007. You may also apply to take the exam locally by submitting a testing center/proctor to Margaret Whelan at [email protected].
Jurisprudence Exam Dates 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Friday, June 24, 2022
Friday, July 22, 2022
Friday, August 26, 2022
Friday, September 23, 2022
Friday, October 28, 2022
Friday, November 18, 2022* *Third Friday due to Holiday
Friday, December 23, 2022